Strong is the New Skinny

Shape Magazine

Image via Shape

So I am trying to come up with phrase to say to people when they ask me or tell me to eat everything or to eat junk food because they will say “but you are not fat”. Sometimes it’s hard to explain to people the reason for “dieting” when your goal is not to be skinny or just to lose weight, instead your goal is to gain strength, to gain muscle and to have  good health. I do not really see it as dieting I see it as it’s just the way that I eat to support my health and my fitness goals. Sure it is hard and I do cheat every now and then, but I do not see the point in eating junk food or processed food because it has ZERO nutritional benefits and it is more harmful to your health than it is not. I get criticized  all the time for this, for example for not eating white rice or white bread. I choose to not eat these things because they have no nutritional benefits, instead I eat brown rice and whole wheat bread.

Leave a Reply

